Two Spanish weeks (summary) - Reisverslag uit Cedrillas, Spanje van Kees Schmitz - WaarBenJij.nu Two Spanish weeks (summary) - Reisverslag uit Cedrillas, Spanje van Kees Schmitz - WaarBenJij.nu

Two Spanish weeks (summary)

Door: keesiberico

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Kees

26 Mei 2010 | Spanje, Cedrillas

The 14th of May I arrived in Spain, in Figueres. I left France high up in the Pyrenees over a very rough path (worse than Penlaw), but at Spanish side it turned into a well-paved 2 lane road, almost for myself. In Figueres I’ve visited the Dali museum, very nice and particular at times too. Girona was the next stop. A nice town to visit with a lot of things to see. Especially because there was a flower festival going on the ‘Temp de Flors’. The weather changed into warmer and more stable, so that was nice.
From Girona the biking route to Sevilla started (book: “Unlimited biking to and through Andalucia’). From this day on it was climbing mountains every day, but most of the track in beautiful nature and countryside.
I passed among others Manresa (did not like this town), Montblanc (a very nice little town, the first really warm day). I camped in Vilanova de Prades at 900m and stayed here a day, which I liked very much (time to get a teint(?) on other parts than arms and legs). In Vinebre, at the bank of the river Ebro, I got the most smallest room they had (the hotel was fully booked full that weekend), but it was OK for me.
The day thereafter a large part of the trip went over an old railway track, turned into a good biking path. This was very nice because I passed over several beautiful viaducts, I had to put my light on in tunnels (and still I could hardly see where I was going, so really dark in there) and without notice I climbed a lot in height. All these days I travelled through several wine areas, and as you can imagine I tried some (…?) of them.
After that day I entered into the area called ‘El Maestrazgo’, with the first stop in Morella, a nice medieval town with a hudge castel on top of the mountain where the town was build on. Yesterday and today I biked in the middle of this area. Especially today I enjoyed it, although I had to work hard to come over 4 mountains of 1500m and more; the highest was 1700m above sealevel (probably the top in my journey). This Maestrazgo area is very rough and a bit bare. The mountains are rocky and formed in layers and terrases(?), the tops of the mountains are often rounded and flat. Today sometimes I had to think of the hills from Newbigging to Moffat, because parts had quite a similar look and shape. In the sink of the third mountain of today I had to stop for a herd of sheep crossing the bridge I had to cross too. And here I had so much nice viewing points with great views over the land.
Until now I like this trip very much, I see a lot of towns and nature and what is most important I enjoy it very much. The weather is now warm and stable, so good days ahead.
Hopefully this summary and the pictures of all these days give you a good image of where I am travelling around.

  • 27 Mei 2010 - 20:58

    Ian & Moira:

    Well done Kees that was a great summary. We are very jealous of you travelling through all the lovely parts - but of course maybe we would prefer it on our quad bikes!! hope the wine has been good quality for you. Have a lovely birthday too .
    Weather here was beautiful at the weekend but now is down to 2C tonight so send a little more warmth over to us. Take care and enjoy the rest of the trip.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Kees

Dagboeken voor mijn fietstochten naar en door Spanje, Portugal en Italië.

Actief sinds 20 Maart 2010
Verslag gelezen: 148
Totaal aantal bezoekers 136476

Voorgaande reizen:

24 Mei 2023 - 31 Augustus 2023

Fietsreis naar Italië 2023

01 April 2016 - 31 Augustus 2016

Fietsreis Spanje 2016

05 April 2010 - 08 Augustus 2010

Fietstocht naar Spanje

Landen bezocht: