From Berceo to León (summary 3) - Reisverslag uit Frades, Spanje van Kees Schmitz - WaarBenJij.nu From Berceo to León (summary 3) - Reisverslag uit Frades, Spanje van Kees Schmitz - WaarBenJij.nu

From Berceo to León (summary 3)

Door: kees

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Kees

24 Juni 2016 | Spanje, Frades

From Berceo I went up into the mountains of the Sierra de la Demanda. Very beautiful views and nature to see. But hard working for a biker: first day to 1000m high for a hotel, and next day to climb further to 1200m and thereafter two puertos of 1400m. But it was worth so nice to bike up there. That day ended in Domingo de Silos of which the last part of the day went through a very narrow valley almost only consisting of bare and rough rocks. The road, 3m wide, was slaloming between these rocks. A very particular experience.
Thereafter I visited the city of Burgos, with a really wonderfull cathedral. I think one of the most beautiful cathedrals I have seen. Wonderfull stained glass windows and a large capital?....? From Burgos the route went back to the coast. Among others via Reinosa where the spring is of the Rio Ebro , one of the longest rivers of Spain. To reach the coast I had to cross the Cantabrian Mountains and that day there was very much fog in the sink. So I had to be carefull in going down and at times I was a bit afraid not to miss a curve.
At the Cantabrian coast I visited the lovely town Comillas. Here is the first building designed by the Spanish architect Anton Gaudi situated, El Capricho. I enjoyed the visit to this wonderfull building very much. Also the campsite was very nice to stay. My tent stood 20 meters above sea on a cliff, only three meters from the edge. So I had a lovely view on the sea and rocky coast.
Fortunately the weather had improved and it stayed that way while I was going on and entered into the area of the Picos de Europa. This is such a beautiful nature region, unbelievable. I stayed all together five days on three different places in these mountains. One day I went from Potes to Fuente Dé and from there with the Teleferico up to 1800 meter high. Here it looked like being at a skistation. Bare rock with large parts in snow and ice. I enjoyed this daytrip very much, also because the sky was clear which made the views even more impressive. After this daytrip I had two other travel days in the Picos. I had to cross high passes and the weather these days was partly cloudy and a bit cold. After I left the Picos it was only one day to reach the city León.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Kees

Dagboeken voor mijn fietstochten naar en door Spanje, Portugal en Italië.

Actief sinds 20 Maart 2010
Verslag gelezen: 146
Totaal aantal bezoekers 136231

Voorgaande reizen:

24 Mei 2023 - 31 Augustus 2023

Fietsreis naar Italië 2023

01 April 2016 - 31 Augustus 2016

Fietsreis Spanje 2016

05 April 2010 - 08 Augustus 2010

Fietstocht naar Spanje

Landen bezocht: